Latest News

Class Got Brass Winners


Our deepest thanks go to all of the schools, band directors and, most especially, the students who participated in the first annual Class Got Brass second-line competition yesterday.

Seventeen schools took place in the second-line parade, with 10 judges volunteering their time and knowledge.

Three schools shared the top prizes - a total of $20,000 worth of instruments for their school band programs. But all of the kids who performed on Rampart Street were winners.

The final results were:

First place, $10,000: KIPP McDonogh 15 Middle School, Kelvin Harrison, band director

Second place, $6,000: O. Perry Walker High School, Wilbert Rawlins, band director

Third place, $4,000: McDonogh 35 High School, David Jefferson, band director

Additionally, all of the 14 schools that participated but didn't finish in the top three will receive prizes of $750.

Thanks again to all of the students and band directors. We look forward to seeing you on the street again next year.

See this video of the winning performance.

The judges were:

Ben Jaffe
Brice Miller
Derrick Tabb
Greg Stafford
Gregory Davis
Michael White
Sammie Williams
Shamarr Allen
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews
Virgil Tiller

The competing schools were:

Chalmette High School; Band director, Jason Rusk
Edna Karr High School; Band director, Chris Herrero
Eleanor McMain Secondary High School; Band director, Todrick Carmouche
Fannie C. Williams Charter School; Band director, Thaddeus Petit
KIPP McDonogh 15 Middle School; Band director, Kelvin Harrison Sr.
Lafayette Academy Charter School; Band director, M. Louis Ford
L. W. Higgins High School; Band director, Dwayne Nathan
Martin Behrman Charter Acadmy of Creative Arts and Sciences; Band director, Birdell Mitchell
McDonough 35 College Preparatory School; Band director, David Jefferson
O. Perry Walker College and Career Preparatory High School & Community Center; Band director, Wilbert Rawlins
Riverdale Middle School ; Band director, Desmond L. Venable
Salmen High School; Band director, Jim Stevens
Sophie B. Wright; Band director, Desmian K. Barnes
St. Mary's Academy High School; Band director, Ray Johnson
St. Tammany Jr. High School; Band director, Caitlyn Lancaster
Warren Easton Charter High School; Band director, Asia Muhaimin
West Jefferson High School; Band director, Sandradee Gray

The New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival and Foundation, Inc.